+ 92 91 9221384 info@kmc.edu.pk

Welcome to :

Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics

 

About the Department: The first batch of MBBS students of Khyber Medical College was able to reach its 3rd year in 1957. As no Pharmacologist was available at that time, a well known Physician Dr. Nasir ud Din Azam Khan was given the responsibility of establishing the department and teaching the subject of Pharmacology. Since then, a series of renowned Professors, including eminent Pharmacologists like Professor S.A. Wahid Shah, chaired the department, raising it to the outstanding position among the Pharmacology departments of public and private sector medical colleges, not only in the province but also throughout the country.

The department has a rich faculty including two Professors, one Associate Professor, five Assistant Professors and five Demonstrators who are involved full time in teaching and training of undergraduate students of 3rd year MBBS and 2nd year BDS, and postgraduate scholars of M.Phil and DCD (Diploma in Clinical Dentistry) in the discipline of Pharmacology.

The department has one lecture theatre, three laboratories for undergraduate students, a research laboratory for postgraduate students and faculty, a museum, SGD rooms, staff room and offices for the faculty and ministerial staff, and an animal house. Research Laboratory of the department is equipped with PowerLab, rotary evaporator and refrigerator for storing biological specimens at -80C to -800C for research purposes. The department also manages a Students Pharmacy providing first-aid in emergency situations.

Mission
Imparting knowledge of rationale use of medications and fostering a culture of research in the field of Pharmacology
Vision
To be a dynamic and competitive centre of excellence in teaching, learning and research in the discipline of Pharmacology
Dr. Mushtaq Ahmad Marwat

Professor & Chairman | MBBS, M.Phil, mushtaq.marwat@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Saadatullah Khan,

Professor | MBBS, M.Phil, saadatullah.khan@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Abid Shah

Associate Professor | MBBS, FCPS (Medicine), abid.shah@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Shandana Amer

Assistant Professor | MBBS, M.Phil, PhD (Scholar), shandana.amer@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Saleh Faisal

Assistant Professor | MBBS, M.Phil, PhD (Scholar), saleh.faisal@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Mohammad Tamhid

Demonstrator / MBBS, M.Phil (Scholar), tamhid.mohammad@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Naimatullah Orakzai

Assistant Professor | MBBS, M.Phil, PhD (Scholar), naimatullah.khan@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Muazzam Ahmad

Assistant Professor | MBBS, M.Phil, banisai20@hotmail.com

Dr. Tariq Mahfooz Khwaja

Demonstrator | MBBS, M.Phil , tariq.mahfooz@kmc.edu.pk

Waheed Iqbal

Chemist / B.Pharmacy, M.Phil (Pharmacology), waheediqbal22@gmail.com

Dr. Nizam ud Din

Assistant Professor | MBBS, M.Phil, FCPS (Medicine), CHPE, nizamuddin@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Mustafa Khurshid

Demonstrator / MBBS, mustafakhurshid@outlook.com

Dr. Tahira Abrar

Demonstrator / MBBS, tahira.abrar@kmc.edu.pk

Dr. Yed Obaida Shah

Demonstrator / MBBS, obaidashah@hotmail.com

Hands-on-training workshop on Lab safety protocols 

In order to fulfill the requirements of the PMC for its upcoming visit, a hands-on-training workshop on Lab safety protocols was conducted by the Pharmacology Department on 4th October 2021. Lab Technicians and Focal Persons of the Basic Sciences Departments for the PMC visit participated  actively  in the workshop. The workshop was facilitated by Prof Mushtaq Marwat, Dr Saleh Faisal and Mr Waheed Iqbal.